Growing up :(

Looking out of my window, once again I see the airplane which I used to wave at.
Only this time, it somehow fails to grab my attention.

I look up at the beautiful night sky, but now the enchantment in the twinkling of the stars, is lost somewhere between the laws of refraction.

Once again I visit the zoo, where I had spent hours together laughing incessantly at the monkey trying to imitate me,
but this time I am angered by the very thought of keeping these mute victims in such condition.

I pass by the store and see all these colorful candies, but this time I return home empty handed, counting calories.

The weather turns cloudy once again, but instead of making paper boats, I criticize the condition of the roads and anticipate the problems that the rain might cause.

I go to the science fair expecting to be spellbound as before.
Only this time I am thoroughly bored because I know the science behind it all.

Logic and reason has brought me far away from the ignorant and curious kid that I was, and I am sure when I agreed on growing up, this was definitely not what I had signed up for.

4 thoughts on “Growing up :(

Leave a comment